navtop227
 Prisons 
bottomlip227
CourseBuilderDontMissV1
RoundedAlphaforPrisons

Alpha for Prisons

Through an interdenominational national network of churches, which regularly conduct the Alpha course, Christians are sharing their life changing experiences with inmates in our nations prisons and jails. Thank you for considering how you might follow the leading of the Holy Spirit in your life by becoming involved with us. Through Alpha USA and the local church we believe that fewer people will return to prison once released. We look forward to hearing from you as together we work to make our communities safer places in which to live while bringing glory to God.

Introducing the New Alpha for Prison Brochure 


Preview here:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A Word from our National Director, Jack Cowley


As a prison warden I observed a multitude of ministry volunteers entering prisons to preach the message of Jesus Christ. It was not uncommon for many of the prisoners to attend a number of different services each week and in so doing they would easily become confused from the well intentioned but conflicting messages being preached to them.

Alpha’s holistic introduction to the Christian faith provides prisoners through observation & dialogue with volunteers and each other the opportunity to discover for themselves the meaning of life. Alpha in prisons is an effective ministry tool by which prisoners can overcome their deep sense of loss through the understanding of what it really means to have “Christ in their lives”. Hope through faith is then restored and they are more likely to live by Biblical standards while still in prison and after release.

It should be noted that as each prison is different, so are the conditions under which the course is presented. Resources are made available to assist the course leaders in determining how to provide the material in as meaningful a format as possible.

Jack Cowley, National Director
Alpha for Prisons & Re-Entry (USA)
jackcowley@alphausa.org

Alpha Prison prayer call

Join us on a Alpha Prison prayer call every Thursday - 6:00 pm ET, 5:00 pm CT, 4:00 pm MT, & 3:00 pm PT.
Dial toll free : US/CAN: 530-881-1300 Pass code: 941978 followed by the #key.
If you have a praise or prayer request, please email louronnarichardson@alphausa.org and we will be sure to pray.


Sign up for our Email Newsletter

Find a Course 2
top-curve
bottom-curve